TWW Daily Feed (6.8.2010)

Funny how when I’m not motivated to exercise a slight irritation in a knee or hamstring becomes excruciatingly painful. That is what happened to me yesterday, when my afternoon plans to run quickly succumbed to my desire for a late afternoon nap. With a workout bag packed and on the road to the venue of the day I realized that a nap sounded better than 6 miles, and suddenly my knee started to “hurt.” Thanks Brain for playing along with that one. I appreciated it. The Feed:

Afternoon dose:

We’re going to head south for a minute so that Steve at the Adventure Life can show off some amazing pictures of lava flowing from Guatemala’s Pacaya volcano. Thankfully, it appears that the tourists and bystanders in Guatemala have a much greater ability to restrain themselves than American tourists. I was in Yellowstone once and watched a tourist try to sneak up behind a moose. I can just imagine that same guy trying to get a sense for exactly how hot the lava is. Kudos Guatemala.

I was a little bit crushed with the Phoenix Suns lost in the Western Conference Finals. I have to admit I have a bit of a man crush on Steve Nash. The dude just seems super cool. He is known in the league as a bit of a fitness and nutrition freak, so his Men’s Journal blurb about what sort of natural supplements he likes caught my attention. Good advice, especially for the aging athletes out there.

In case you were curious; the latest in Landisgate 2010: The Doper Sagas. Basically; accusations from everybody, everyone telling Landis to be quiet, Armstrong and others denying everything and the usually cycling world speak when it comes to this stuff.

This is a pretty interesting study: vigorous exercise has been linked to better grads. My assumption when first reading the headline was that people who have the discipline to exercise regularly probably have the discipline to study more. And the study says? Basically the exact same thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under On the move

Leave a Reply

