TWW Daily Feed for January 20, 2010

My favorite overheard conversation snippet from last night, spoken by a woman that comes into the bar almost nightly and always has at least two heavy beers: “I just don’t understand why my love handles are so bad. They’re like really big! What should I do about them?” You got me honey. I have no idea how you would mitigate the extra body mass accumulating around your stomach area. One more beer? No problem.

Welcome to Wednesday! I think one of the best parts about writing this post everyday is that I get to peruse through a lot of articles about athletics, restaurants and other general areas that we cover. It’s a good way to start the day and a fun break from work or whatever else is going on. It also makes me a good date for a cocktail party where the guests are interested in coffee, running, cycling, restaurants, food carts and random charts. I’m in high demand. I hope everyone is having a great week. It feels like winter is finally showing itself in Colorado. Time to bust out the thermal spandex again. The Feed:

2:00pm

I’ve never heard of avalanche air bags, but apparently they are a great system for improving the likelihood of surviving slides. The problem is that not everyone deploys them in time. Thankfully, the science world has come up with a solution. Good idea dudes.

The latest results from the Tour Down Under, featuring some background info on back to back winner Andre Greipel. So far HTC-Columbia is dominating with their sprinters.

And for some post lunch rocking out, check out the new video from Ok Go. Good song. Great video:

7:57am

Continuing from yesterday’s results; Portland Food and Drink’s Restaurant Survey, featuring categories 7 thru 10. Frankly, I’m a little suprised that Chipotle made it on to the list of “I’m Embarrassed to Eat Here” restaurants. I love Chipotle, and no way the food there is as bad for you as Taco Bell or Burgerville. Granted, the tortillas have 200% of your daily sodium needs, but who cares about sodium when you’re in the mood for a gigantic, fresh, burrito? I call BS on this one.

GQ’s rundown of the 25 Most Stylish Men and what makes them that way. Good for the ladies, and good for the fellas. Why? Because as much as we might insist that sneakers, jeans and a sweatshirt are perfectly appropriate wardrobe choices for hitting the town, they’re not, and everyone should know how to wear a good suit. And you know you have a man crush on David Beckham.

This is an incredibly handy graphic for tracking the various harvest seasons in the Pacific Northwest. Why in the world do you need to know when the harvest seasons are? Because then you can buy fruits and veggies when they’re in season, and avoid the whole “my Kiwis are being flown here in a jumbo jet” kind of situation (I’m talking to you Whole Foods).

Man flying through a hole in a giant cliff. Cool, I guess. People think up some crazy sh*t. The music makes me feel like I’m in an 80s action movie.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Feed

Leave a Reply

